“Raccoons” Everywhere In the Underground

Resident Evil (2002)

Let me think about it. I was 7 years old when this came out. As a straightforward horror film, I always enjoyed this kind of entertainment but lately it’s kind of grown out on me. You look at 2002’s “Resident Evil” and you think what an amazing job it must have been to base the movie on elements of the video game series. I’ve played the games too when I was little and was creeped out enough to say the least.

*SPOILERS*

My title by the way, refers to the city itself which isn’t necessarily featured prominently until later in the film series. I loved the concept of being trapped underground in a top secret laboratory with a bunch of flesh-eating zombies. Throw in an array of advanced technology as a defense mechanism and you’ve got a terrifying isolated place as your main setting. Characterization is pretty limited which is something I didn’t always like that this film excluded. Everyone is just thrown into this horrific setting with barely any noted background or story.

There were some other things that I never truly enjoyed about this film. The first would have to be the acting. Don’t get me wrong, I loved Mila Jovovich as well as Michelle Rodriguez. It’s just that the amnesia-clueless Alice never really got me over, but I suppose it was meant to serve as an excuse so that the other characters could explain to all of us, the audience, what the situation is in the film. Jovovich did a solid job in that sense, but I just never looked at it in an Oscar-winning performance kind of way.

That brings me to my next point. With zombies thrown into the mix, it’s obvious that these characters needed to have some fighting skills to defend themselves and in that theory I was correct. “Resident Evil” throws in a solid punch with non-stop martial arts and butt-kicking, mostly delivered from our lovely blond, Alice. That was a bit of a distraction when it came to following the story. A virus is let loose in the Hive and thus the Red Queen goes 187 on everyone’s ass, even once our commando team of characters decide to investigate the dilemma.

From there we even get a science fiction aspect. Lasers and lickers all around are enough to make much of a challenge for our team, which by the way begins to die off one by one as the film progresses. Well we really only get to see one licker and the effects kind of looked below average but I’m not going to bash against the production team for this. They did a better job with the lickers in “Apocalypse,” but that’s another story… I have to say though, I always loved Michelle Rodriguez in any role that she is in and I was never ok with the fact that they killed her off. Oh well at least she got a kick-ass dramatic death and we even got to see her as a zombie.

All jokes aside I’ve always remembered this installment of the horror series for two reasons. One is because of the beginning, where Alice awakens in her shower. Since then, it’s become a noteworthy scene that’s actually been replicated in the film series itself later on. The other reason is because of it’s cliffhanger ending. Since the majority of the film takes place in the Hive, we never really get to see what Raccoon City looks like in detail though it is mentioned throughout the film. Once we get to the ending however, the first shot we get, is that of a deserted apocalyptic-like city that’s basically been demolished by the undead while our main character had been isolated away by Umbrella. I’m not sure why, but that scene of the camera zooming out on Alice to showing what the city has become, has always been one of the creepiest scenes I’ve ever gazed upon.

You can see it for yourselves here if you want…

Leave a Reply

